EMS PhD Thesis Prize

The EMS PhD Thesis Prize for 2021 has been awarded to Dr Leonardo Tolomeo of the Mathematisches Institut der Universität Bonn (PhD, University of Edinburgh) for his outstanding thesis ‘Stochastic dispersive PDEs with additive space-time white noise’. 

Whittaker Prize

The Sir Edmund Whittaker Memorial Prize for 2021 has been awarded to Dr Ben Davison of the University of Edinburgh in recognition of his outstanding research achievements in the fields of enumerative counting invariants in algebraic geometry and non-commutative algebra. 

EMS Impact Prize

The EMS Impact Prize for 2021 has been awarded to Professor Marian Scott OBE (Glasgow University), a statistician who has made important methodological developments in statistics and applied them in areas as diverse as water quality monitoring, air pollution, and pain in animals, and Professor Andrew Cairns (Heriot Watt) whose work in actuarial mathematics on the development of models for mortality and longevity has produced quantitative tools now adopted as the industry standard in the pensions and life insurance industry.