About the Society

The Edinburgh Mathematical Society (EMS) was founded in 1883 and has since become firmly established as the principal society for the mathematical sciences community in Scotland. The aims of the EMS are the development and promotion of all aspects of the mathematical sciences – including pure and applied mathematics, statistics, operational research, and data science – particularly in Scotland.  It draws its membership from all the Scottish universities and other educational institutions as well as from mathematical scientists in industry and commerce both at home and overseas.

You can read more about the history of the Society on the MacTutor website, hosted by the University of St Andrews.

The EMS is a partner in the Council for Mathematical Sciences which incorporates the London Mathematical Society, the Royal Statistical Society, the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications, and the Operational Research Society.  The Edinburgh Mathematical Society is additionally a corporate member of the European Mathematical Society.

Current officers of the EMS

Prof. Tara E. Brendle FRSEPresident2023–present; past presidents
Prof. Rachel Norman FRSEVice President2023–present
Dr Steven O’HaganLibrarian2023–present
Dr Jon PridhamTreasurer
Dr Oana PocovnicuMeetings and Membership Secretary
Dr Jessica EnrightGeneral Secretary

General Committee

Dr Scott HarperRepresentative, University of St Andrews
Chris SmithAdditional Member
Mary LlewellynAdditional Member
Dr Debasish DasRepresentative, University of Strathclyde
Dr Wen-shin LeeRepresentative, University of Stirling
Dr Katarzyna KowalRepresentative, University of Glasgow
Dr Eric HallRepresentative, University of Dundee
Dr Alexey SevastyanovRepresentative, University of Aderdeen
Dr Mike WhittakerConvener RSF Committee (by invitation)
Dr Martyn QuickConvener PEMS Editorial Board
Our menu requires JavaScript; please enable it in your browser.